‘Project Awesome’ Artist Brooke ‘Binx’ Smith

Just like we did in the first round of ‘Project Awesome’, we’re doing quick fire interviews with the artists involved so we can get to know them a little better, have a snoop about in their wonderfully creative brain houses and suck up some of their genius.

We’ll also find out what else they are up to so we can creep on their social media. You know, all that usual good stuff.

May we introduce Brooke ‘Binx’ Smith!

IMG_7982

With a heavy ‘pop’ influence (which of course we LOVE), Brooke’s work has a large sense of fun, a splash of nostalgia and a whole heap of awesome.

Come with us now as we have a chat and find out just what makes this (Aristo) cat purr.*

*that makes more sense when you see the last image, it’s not completely random, just so you know.

Have you always been artistic or is it something that has developed more recently for you? In other words, how did you get to where you are at today?

I have always been an artist and creative person from a really young age. Always drawing, drawing all over my school diaries, doodling on pieces of paper at work, studying art all throughout school, including fashion design and makeup.

Honestly, I fell into becoming a tattoo artist. When I first started getting my own tattoos, my artist followed me on social media and saw my art posts. He asked me to bring in some of my work and showed his boss who told me I was born for this and to show as many studios as I could to get myself an apprenticeship! I’d never expected to be where I am today but I am so grateful that I am.

20184984_1745920262368117_8944132161124958208_n

What does it mean to you to be an artist?

To me, being an artist can mean absolutely anything, I love that I get to express myself through art every day for a living, and also help other people express themselves. It’s a really rewarding job, and I think being an artist has made me the person I am today. I think in some ways it may have saved my life!

20181029_126203654655970_6280701827092578304_n

Apart from this awesome vintage jacket project, what are you working on now?

I’m currently working as a full time tattoo artist, I am also participating in Supanova later this year as a featured artist, doing prints and clothing, and potentially opening up my own artist lounge (hopefully soon)

What would be your dream job/commission?

My dream job or commission would be creating more fashion pieces such as this, or becoming a special effects tattoo artist on movie set – doing temporary tattoos for characters!

20067015_2107012499574710_1142307240259092480_n

What are your ‘All Time Top Five Artistic Influences’ (owww..big category, could be other artists, music, friends….anything that has influenced you as an artist)

One massive influence is pop culture. Anything to do with movies, gaming, television series.

Music would be my next influence, creating pieces based on lyrics.

Animals would also be another as well as nature, using them in their natural state is incredible to capture as a piece of art.

Some of my biggest influences come from other artists. Seeing what they can create and building onto it and bouncing off of each other.

My friends and family are another massive influence. The conversations we have, the memories we make and the ideas sometimes they even come up with!

19761821_1866603956936796_1089292582023856128_n(1)
see, Aristocat….

 

So there you have it! The world according to Binx. We are  SUPER excited to see what she’s cooked up for us on her jacket. We’ve seen a sneak peak and we nearly peed our pants, so seeing it for reals is going to be next level.

Check out her Facebook for all her fab tattoo works and also keep up with her on Instagram @bi.nx

Peace!

f.A.’s

xxx

 

Leave a comment